Saturday, July 9, 2016

Coheed and Cambria play to packed Orbit Room

8-28-10 Originally published on by Tracy Heck

Coheed and Cambria on stage at the Orbit Room 8-25-10
Coheed and Cambria on stage at the Orbit Room 8-25-10
Tracy Heck
Wednesday night, Coheed and Cambria fans packed into the Orbit Room in Grand Rapids to see their favorite band.
The packed house was treated to a solid show from start to finish that began with indie rock band The Dear Hunter.
The band only had a short performance time but they made the most of it running through a set full of energy and enthusiasm that got the crowd on their feet and into the show early.
Up next was co-headliners progressive rock band Porcupine Tree, who seemed to draw almost as many fans as Coheed and Cambria did.
The band certainly didn't disappoint as they ran through a number of their most popular songs from "Train" to "Way Out of Here" to their closer "Sleep Together".
The band has a Pink Floyd-esque quality to them and are extremely talented but many of their songs went on a bit long and by the end of the set the crowd was beginning to get a bit restless.
By the time Coheed and Cambria finally took the stage, there was hardly any room to move. 
The second the band came on stage the crowd erupted as a massive mosh pit broke out and people immediately began crowd surfing.  That energy did not abate the rest of their set as the crowd sang and jumped along.
Coheed and Cambria has been touring behind their latest release Year of the Black Rainbow.  Earlier this Summer on the first leg of the tour they played sets full of rare material so this time around they decided to pull out all of their hits as well as some new songs.
Set highlights included enthusiastic versions of "Ten Speed (Of God's Blood and Burial)", "Here We Are, Juggernaut", "The Suffering" and "No World For Tomorrow".
The band slowed it down with "Pearl of the Stars" and "Wake Up", which featured vocalist Claudio Sanchez taking the stage by himself for a crowd sing-a-long.
The band closed out the evening with new hit "World of Lines" and their most popular song "Welcome Home".
Coheed and Cambria Set list:

1. In Keeping Secrets of Silent Earth: 3
2. Ten Speed (Of God's Blood And Burial)
3. Here We Are Juggernaut
4. The Crowing
5. The Suffering
6. Pearl of the Stars
7. Everything Evil
8. When Skeletons Live
9. The Willing Well I: Fuel for the Feeding End
10. Delirium Trigger
11. No World For Tomorrow
12. Encore:
12. Wake Up
13. World of Lines
14. Welcome Home